Timeline of Ancient Rome


Iron-age settlement on Palatine hill

800 BC - 750 BC

Romulus founds Rome (Traditional)

753 BC

Roman power extends to coast

642 BC - 17 BC

Rome under Etruscan dominance

616 BC - 510 BC

Rome controls 350 sq. m. of territory

534 BC - 510 BC

Tribune of the Plebs formed (five initial tribunes)

494 BC

Alliance with states on the planes of Latium

493 BC

Latin states revolted

490 BC

Council of the Plebs formed

471 BC

Allowed plebians to create laws that only applied to them (plebescitas)

Decemvirate - council of 10 assume magistrate's powers

451 BC - 50 BC

Publishing of the Twelve Tables

450 BC

Canuleian Law formed

445 BC

allowed for intermarriage between plebeians and patricians

Celts sack Rome

390 BC

Licinian-Sextian Law formed

367 BC

said that one consul COULD be a plebian

Publishing of the Quintillian Law

357 BC

Said that both consuls COULD be plebian, but one HAD to be plebian

First Plebian dictator, G. Marcus Rutilius

356 BC

First Samnite War

343 BC - 1 BC

Latin War: Rome wins control of Latium

340 BC - 38 BC

Roman Confederation

338 BC

gave some people automatic citizenship, and others a chance at becoming citizens

Second Samnite War

327 BC - 4 BC

Third Samnite War - Roman territory extends from Bay of Naples to Adriatic

298 BC - 90 BC

The Hortensian Law is formed

287 BC

declared that plebescitas are to be followed by everyone

Romans Repel invasion by Pyrrhus, King of Epirus

281 BC - 275 BC

First Punic War

264 BC - 241 BC

Romans hold all of Italy

264 BC

First Punic War gives Rome control of Sicily

246 BC - 241 BC

Second Punic War

218 BC - 201 BC

Romans repel Hannibal's invasion of Italy and conquer much of Spain

218 BC - 201 BC

During Second Punic War

Battle of Ticinius and Trebia river

218 BC

Hannibal invades Italy

218 BC

Battle of Trasimene

217 BC

Battle of Cannae

216 BC

Battle of Zama

202 BC

First Servile War

135 BC - 132 BC

prompted by slave revolts

Tiberius becomes tribune of the plebs

133 BC

Engaged in war with Italian allies

90 BC - 88 BC

over war benefits. Ended war by making Italians citizens. New voters gave power to populares

Slave uprising led by Spartacus

73 BC - 71 BC

Julius Caesar defeats Pompey and becomes dictator of Rome

45 BC

Julius Caesar assassinated

44 BC

The Triumverate become rulers of Rome

41 BC - 33 BC

The Triumvirate of Marc Antony, Lepidus, and Octavian (later known as Caesar Augustus) become the rulers of Rome

Antony and Cleopatra are defeated by Octavian

31 BC

Pax Romana (Roman Peace that let Rome Flourish)

27 BC - 180 AD

Octavian becomes Caesar Augustus, ruler of Rome

27 BC - 14 AD

Augustus dies and Tiberius becomes emperor

14 AD - 37 AD

Gaius (Caligula) is emperor

37 AD - 41 AD

Caligula is killed

41 AD

Claudius is Emperor

41 AD - 54 AD

Nero is Emperor

54 AD - 68 AD

Claudius is killed

54 AD

Fire destroys much of Rome and Christians are blamed

64 AD

Nero dies

68 AD

The Roman Colosseum is built

75 aD - 80 AD

Reign of Five good Emperors

96 AD - 180 AD

brought stability to Rome by treating ruling class with respect and cooperating with the Senate

Marcus Cocceius Nerva's reign

96 AD - 98 AD

Publius Aelius Hadrianus' reign

117 AD - 138 AD

Antoninus Pius' reign

138 AD - 161 AD

Marcus Aurelius Antoninus' reign

161 AD - 180 AD

Roman Civil War

235 AD - 284 AD

Constantine becomes first Christian emperor

306 - 337

Christianity is declared sole religion of Rome by Theodosius I

380 AD

The Visigoths sack Rome


The Vandals sack Rome


The last Roman emperor, Romulus Augustulus is defeated


He is defeated by Oadocer, a German Goth