European Union Timeline


Council of Europe: First Step


After WWII European countries are determined to prevent such killing and destruction. When the Cold War begins Europe is split into East and West. Western nations create Council of Europe in 1949

Schuman Plan


April 18, 1951
Six countries decided to run their coal and steel industries under the same management to prevent conflict.
Founding Members: Germany, France, Italy, the Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg

Treaty of Rome


March 25, 1957
The six countries sign Treaty of Rome, creating the European Economic Community allowing goods and services between these countries to move freely.

Common Agriculture Policy


July 30, 1962
Common Agriculture Policy gives EU countries joint control over food production. Farmers are paid better for their produce. Successful. Enough food, even a surplus, and farmers were paid well. Now EU is working on quality over quantity of food.

Removed Customs Duties


July 1, 1968
The six remove customs duties on goods to allow free cross-border trade. World's biggest trading group formed. Trade increses rapidly.

Treaty on European Union


February 7, 1992
An EU milestone setting rules for euro and foreign and security policy. Also name officially changes to European Union

Single Market and four freedoms established


January 1, 1993
The free movement of goods, services, people, and money is now a reality.

Euro introduced


January 1, 1999
Euro introduced in 11 countries, more countries to follow

European Constitution


October 29, 2004
The now 25 countries of the EU sign a treaty to establish a European Constitution. Democratic decision-making. Creation of European Foreign Minister. Every country had to ratify the constitution before it was put in action.

Kyoto Protocol


International treaty to limit global warming and cut emmision of greenhouse gases.

Economic Crisis begins