Mexican Revoltion 1820-1920


Mexican independence declared


Spain recognizes Mexican independence with the Treaty of Cordoba

New Mexican Constitution


General Santa Anna deposes Iturbide, the monarchy fails, and a new constitution creates a federal republic

Texas declares its Independence


Texas declared its independence and won it at the Battle of San Jacinto

Mexican-American War

1846 - 1848

War between U.S. and Mexico. Four campaigns: Taylor in Northern Mexico, Kearny in New Mexico, naval blockage of both coasts, and Scott’s campaign from Vera Cruz to Mexico City.

Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo


The treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo reduces Mexico's territory by half, ceding present-day Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, California, Nevada, Utah, and part of Colorado to the U.S.

Constitution of 1857


Mexican Civil War

1857 - 1860

Benito Juarez emerged as liberal leader and President.

French Occupation

1863 - 1867

The French occupy Mexico City and Napoleon III of France appoints Archduke Ferdinand Maximilian of Austria as Emperor of Mexico

Maximilian is executed


Juarez's Presidency

1867 - 1872

Juarez regains presidency

Diaz Presidency

1876 - 1911

Porfirio Diáz dictator of Mexico (for all but four years). Economic growth.

Mexican Revolution

1910 - 1920

Madero Imprisoned


Diaz throws Madero into prison before 1910 election.

Madero's Presidency

5/25/1911 - 2/18/1913

Madero wins election to the Mexican presidency. Later killed with his brother in the Ten Tragic Days in Mexico City,.

Diaz's resignation


Exiled to France

Ten Tragic Days

2/9/1913 - 2/18/1913

Tragic revolts in Mexico City. Madero is murdered.

Huerta's Presidency

2/19/1913 - 7/15/1914

Huerta assumed power after Madero’s death. He resigns in July of 1914 due to his defeat in Zacatecas by Pancho Villa.

Plan de Guadalupe


Venustiano Carranza drafts his Plan de Guadalupe that accuses Huerta of restoring a dictatorship and committing treason; calls for a return to the values of the Constitution of 1857 (supporters are called Constitutionalists)

Obregon elected President