Mexican Revolution 1820-1920


Mexico free from Spanish rule


General Augustín de Iturbide signed the Plan of Iguala to establish the new nation.

Mexico delcared a Republic


General Santa Anna replaced Iturbide and declared a Republic

Texas declared independence


Texas declared its independence and won it at the Battle of San Jacinto.

Texas became a part of U.S.


The United States annexed the Republic of Texas.

Mexican-American War

1846 - 1848

War between U.S. and Mexico. Four campaigns: Taylor in Northern Mexico, Kearny in New Mexico, naval blockage of both coasts, and Scott's campaign from Vera Cruz to Mexico City.

Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo


Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo ends the War. Terms of peace included payment by the United States of $15 million for large amount of Mexico territory.

Civil War

1857 - 1860

Civil war; Benito Juarez emerged as liberal leader and President.

Constitution of 1857


A new constitution and a liberal victory.

French control of Mexico

1863 - 1867

French army captured Mexico City and Archduke Maximilian of Austria-Hungary (a Hapsburg) became Emperor of Mexico. In 1867, French withdrew and Maximilian is executed at Querétaro.

Juarez presidency

1867 - 1872

Juarez is president of Mexico again.

Diaz dicatorship

1877 - 1911

Porfirio Diáz dictator of Mexico (for all but four years). Economic growth.

Francisco Madero imprisoned


Francisco Madero was put into jail during 1910 elections by Diaz.

Pancho Villa joins Madero (Casas Grandes)


Pancho Villa joined Madero at the battle of Casas Grandes

Orzoco and Villa leave Madero


Orzoco and Villa demand some federal officers be executed. Madero refuses; causes Orzoco and Villa to leave Madero.

Madero's presidency

5/25/1911 - 2/18/1913

Madero wins election to the Mexican presidency. Later killed with his brother in the Ten Tragic Days in Mexico City,.

Diaz resigns


Díaz resigns and leaves to Paris, France in exhile.

Ten Tragic Days

2/9/1913 - 2/18/1913

Tragic revolts in Mexico City. Madero is murdered.

Huerta's presidency

2/19/1913 - 7/15/1914

Huerta assumed power after Madero's death. He resigns in July of 1914 due to his defeat in Zacatecas by Pancho Villa.

Plan de Guadalupe


Venustiano Carranza drafts his Plan de Guadalupe that accuses Huerta of restoring a dictatorship and committing treason; calls for a return to the values of the Constitution of 1857 (supporters are called Constitutionalists)

Carranza's presidency

8/1/1914 - 1/1/1920

Carranza declares himself president, but it is not entirely official. Villa and Zapata leave him. The United States recognizes Carranza as México’s president in October of 1915. He is elected president in 1917.

Zapata's defeat


Zapata is assassinated at Chinamecca

Villa's defeat


Villa is defeated at the last Battle of Juárez

Obregon becomes president


Obregón is elected president of México