Neolithic Age

10200 bc - 4500 bc

The New Age or the Neolithic Age began about 8000 B.C. and ended early 3000 B.C in some areas. People who lived during this second phase of the Stone Age learned to polish stone tools, make pottery, grow crops and raise animals.


3000 bc - 2000 bc

The city state of Sumer were almost constantly at war with one another

How Civilization Develop- Record Keeping

3000 bc

Most civilizations developed a system of writing through some devised other methods of record keeping.

old Kingdom

2686 bc - 2181

TThe Old Kingdom is the name given to the period in the 3rd millennium BC when Egypt attained its first continuous peak of civilization in complexity and achievement – the first of three so-called "Kingdom" periods, which mark the high points of civilization in the lower Nile Valley

1st Intermediate Period

2181 BC - 2055 bc

The First Intermediate Period, often described as a 'dark period' in ancient Egyptian history, spanned approximately one hundred years from ca, 2112-2055BC after the end of the Old Kingdom


2000 bc - 1400 bc

A powerful seafaring people dominated trade in the eastern Mediterranean. They lived to create a large island on the southern edge of the Aegean Sea


1792 bc - 1750 bc

Located on the Euphrates River. Hammurabi develop a code of laws used to unify his empire, it was a total of 282 laws. Hammurabi was a First Dynasty king of the city-state of Babylon, and inherited the power from his father, Sin-Muballit, inc 1792.

Indus Valley Culture Ends

1750 bc

The quality of building the Indus Valley cities declined. Gradually, the great cities fell into decay. The fate of the cities remained a mystery until 19770s.

New Kingdom

1550 bc - 1070 bc

The New Kingdom of Egypt, also referred to as the Egyptian Empire, is the period in ancient Egyptian history between the 16th century BC and the 11th century BC, covering the Eighteenth, Nineteenth, and Twentieth Dynasties of Egypt. The New Kingdom followed the Second Intermediate Period and was succeeded by the Third Intermediate Period. It was Egypt’s most prosperous time and marked the peak of its power.

New Kingdom

1500 bc - 1069

The New Kingdom of Egypt, also referred to as the Egyptian Empire, is period in ancient Egyptian history between the 16th century BC and Twentieth Dynasties of Egypt.


1100 Bc - 539 BC

"Phoenicia" is really a Classical Greek term used to refer to the region of the major Canaanite port towns, and does not correspond exactly to a cultural identity that would have been recognized by the Phoenicians themselves. It is uncertain to what extent the Phoenicians viewed themselves as a single ethnicity and nationality. Their civilization was organized in city-states, similar to ancient Greece.[5] However, in terms of archaeology, language, life style and religion, there is little to set the Phoenicians apart as markedly different from other Semitic cultures of Canaan. As Canaanites, they were unique in their remarkable seafaring achievements.


850 bc - 605 bc

Assyria, Athura (Aramaic for Assyria), or Aššur (Akkadian for Assyria) was a Semitic Akkadian kingdom, extant as a nation state from the late 25th or early–24th century BC to 605 BC.[1]
Assyria was centered on the Upper Tigris river, in northern Mesopotamia (present day northern Iraq). The Assyrians came to rule powerful empires a number of times through history. It was named for its original capital, the ancient city of Assur/Ashu


642 bc - 639 bc

The ruling dynasty of the Persians settled in Fars in southwestern Iran (possibly the Parsumash of the later Assyrian records) traced its ancestry back to an eponymous ancestor, Haxamanish, or Achaemenes. There is no historical evidence of such a king's existence. Traditionally, three rulers fall between Achaemenes and Cyrus II: Teispes, Cyrus I, and Cambyses I. Teispes, freed of Median domination during the so-called Scythian interregnum, is thought to have expanded his kingdom and to have divided it on his death between his two sons, Cyrus I and Ariaramnes. Cyrus I may have been the king of Persia who appears in the records of Ashurbanipal swearing allegiance to Assyria after the devastation of Elam in the campaigns of 642-639 BC, though there are chronological problems involved with this equation. When Median control over the Persians was supposedly reasserted under Cyaxares, Cambyses I is thought to have been given a reunited Persia to administer as a Median vassal. His son, Cyrus II, married the daughter of Astyages and in 559 BC inherited his father's position within the Median confederation. Cyrus II certainly warranted his later title, Cyrus the Great. He must have been a remarkable personality, and certainly he was a remarkable king. He united under his authority several Persian and Iranian groups who apparently had not been under his father's control. He then initiated diplomatic exchanges with Nabonidus of Babylon (556-539 BC), which justifiably worried Astyages. Eventually, he openly rebelled against the Medes, who were beaten in battle when considerable numbers of Median troops deserted to the Persian standard. Thus, in 550 BC, the Median Empire became the first Persian Empire, and the Achaemenid kings appeared on the international scene with a suddenness that must have frightened many.

Middle Kingdom

500 bc

The Middle Ages is a period of European history that lasted from the 5th until the 15th centuries. It began with the collapse of the Western Roman Empire, and was followed by the Renaissance and the Age of Discovery. The Middle Ages is the middle period of the traditional division of Western history into Classical, Medieval, and Modern periods. The period is subdivided into the Early Middle Ages, the High Middle Ages, and the Late Middle Ages.