World War 1 - Treaty of Versailles


Official outbreak of WW1


July 27, 1914

Austria-Hungary declares war on Serbia

July 28, 1914

The decleration for war was sents a telegram

Assasination of Archduke Franz Ferdnand

july 28, 1914

Archduke Franz Ferdinand, heir to Austria-Hungary's throne, and his wife, Sophie, were assassinated while visiting Sarajevo, Bosnia.

Germany declares war on Russia.

august 1 1914

U.S remains Neutral

August 19, 1914

U.S. President Woodrow Wilson announces the U.S. will remain neutral.

First Battle of the Marne begins.

september 5, 1914

One of the first WW1 battles. It resulted in an allied victory against Germany.

First Battle of the Marne ends.

november 10, 1914

Ended in French Victory, which results in stalemate

U-Boat Campaign

feb 2, 1915

German submarine blockade of Great Britain begins. Contributed to their defeat in 1918 and enforced the signing of the Treaty of Versailles

The Battle of Verdun begins

Feb 21, 1916

The Battle of Verdun was the longest battle of World War I and

The Battle of Jutland

may 31, 1916

The major naval battle of the war, begins.

Battle Of Somme

july 1, 1916

The Battle of the Somme begins. During the Battle of the Somme, tanks are first introduced into battle.

Germany sends the secret Zimmerman Telegram to Mexico

January 19, 1917

An effort to entice Mexico to join the war. The British intercept and decipher the coded message.

The United States declares war on Germany

april 6, 1917

The Bolsheviks successfully overthrow the Russian government

november 7, 1917

14 points

january 8, 1918

U.S. President Woodrow Wilson issues his Fourteen Points to peace.

Russia signs the Treaty of Brest Litovsk

march 3, 1918

A peace treaty between Russia and the Central Powers.

Germany signs the armistice at Compiegne, France

november 11, 1918

Fighting ends on the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month (i.e. 11 a.m. on November 11).

Treaty of Versailles signed

28 Jun 1919

By Allied Powers (Britan,France,Italy,Japan,America)By Other Countries including Belgium,Bolivia,Brazil,China, Ecuador,Panama,Peru and many moreBy countries part of the British Empire such as Australia and New Zealand