Quebec History


Jacques Cartier finds Quebec and the Saint Lawrence River

1534 - 1535

Cartier calls the River the Saint Lawrence River because he landed there on Saint Lawrence's feast day.

Samuel de Champlain founds Quebec

1608 - 1609

King Louis XIV allowed settlement in New France only by Roman Catholics

1627 - 1628

Tadoussac captured by England; demanded French to surrender Quebec

1629 - 1632

Founding of Trois-Rivières by Sieur de Laviolette.

1634 - 1635

King Louis XIV decreed Code Noir

1685 - 1686

Code Noir ordered all Jews out of French colonial empire; defined slavery rules, and allowed only Roman Catholic as a religion

French Colonial Government signed Great Peace of Montreal with Natives

1701 - 1702

Construction began on Chemin du roy (King's Road)

1731 - 1737

King's Road is the oldest road in Canada and is a great tourist attraction. It links Quebec City, Montreal and Trois-Rivières.

The Treaty of Paris cedes Quebec to the British Crown

1763 - 1764

The Québec Act of 1774 is passed

1774 - 1775

Britain recognizes Quebec's language, religion, and law.

Constitutional Act passed

1791 - 1792

The Constitutional Act creates two provinces: Upper Canada and Lower Canada.

Legislative Assembly of Lower Canada voted to abolish slavery

1804 - 1805

War of 1812

1812 - 1815

49th Northern Parallel

1818 - 1819

Border line was established as a result of the war of 1812 between the British, Americans, and Canadians..

Patriot Rebellions led by Louis-Joseph Papineau

1837 - 1838

In 1837 and 1838, insurrections exploded in Lower and Upper Canada. The patriots led by Louis-Joseph Papineau attacked the government in hopes of reform.

The Union Act

1840 - 1841

The Union Act unites Upper and Lower Canada in one province.

The British North America Act passes

1867 - 1868

The British North America Act unites the provinces of Ontario, Québec, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick into a federation.

Major forest fire in Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean

1870 - 1871

Quebec Boundary Extension Act passed

1898 - 1899

Act expanded provincial boundaries - included land of the aboriginal Cree

Women won right to vote in Canadian federal elections

1918 - 1919

The Parliament of Québec creates its first public healthcare regime

1921 - 1922

Women gain the right to vote in provincial elections.

1940 - 1941

School attendance becomes mandatory, and primary school is free.

1943 - 1944

Proclamation of the fleur de lis as the official flag of Québec

1948 - 1949

This replaces the Union Jack as Quebec's flag.

The Quiet Revolution

1960 - 1961

A period of major social reforms begins.

French becomes the National Language of Quebec

1974 - 1975

Charter of human rights and freedom adopted by Quebec government

1975 - 1976

Revolution in Canada leads to René Lévesque's rule

1976 - 1985

His rule created his political party the Parti québécois, and led to a proposal that was shot down several times to unite Quebec with the rest of Canada.

Quebec rejects the Parti québécois proposed by René Lévesque's rule

1980 - 1981

Quebecers reject a proposal to reform Canadian Government

1992 - 1993

Parti québécois rejected by Quebec government and people

1995 - 1996

Proposal that was rejected was to bring sovereignty and partnership with Quebec and the rest of Canada

The governement of Québec and Cree sign agreement called the Peace of the Brave.

2002 - 2003

Agreement signed between the Quebec government and the company Cree over an almost 30 year long court case.

400th anniversary of the foundation by of the city of Québec.

01/01/2008 - 12/31/2008