US Foreign Policy 1890-1920


Sinking of Battleship Maine

February 15, 1898

Sinking of this battleship in Havana Harbor led to the Spanish-American War.

Spanish American War

April 25, 1898 - December 10, 1898

Began after explosion of USS Maine in Havana Cuba. Resulted in United State intervention in the Cuban war of independence.

Annexation of Hawaii

July 4, 1898

Samuel Dole declared Hawaii an independent republic after increased nationalism aroused by the Spanish-American War. (Interest began in 1842)

Boxer Rebellion

November 2, 1899 - September 7, 1901

This Yihetuan Movement was a violent anti-foreign, anti-colonial, and anti-Christian uprising that took place in China.

Platt Amendment

March 2, 1901

Seven conditions for the withdrawal of American troops in Cuba, along with signing a treaty accepting these seven conditions.

Panama declares independence

November 3, 1903

Panama declared independence When Colombian troops were unable to negotiate the jungles of the Darien Strait.

Corollary to the Monroe Doctrine

December 1904

This addition stated that the United States will intervene in conflicts between European countries and Latin American countries to enforce legitimate claims of the European powers.

Mexican Revolution

November 20, 1910 - April 20, 1920

Began to overthrow ruler and dictator Porfirio Díaz Mori (ambitious develop an industrial and modernised country), it was a local, regional and national revolution.

Occupation of Haiti

July 28, 1915 - August 1, 1934

President Woodrow Wilson sent 330 United States Marines into Haiti to restore order and maintain political and economic stability in the Caribbean

President Wilson's 14 Points

January 8, 1918

His 14 Points was a statement of principles for peace that was used for peace negotiations in order to end World War I.