Delta Sigma Theta


Delta Sigma Theta was Founded

January 13, 1913

The Civil Rights Act of 1960 (Pub.L. 86–449, 74 Stat. 89, enacted May 6, 1960) was a United States federal law that established federal inspection of local voter registration polls and introduced penalties for anyone who obstructed someone's attempt to register to vote.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was incorporated.

january 20, 1913

The first public act performed by the delta founders involved their participation in the Women's Suffrage March in Washington D.C.

March 3, 1913

May Week was inaugurated and the Official Publication of the Sorority was established as "The Delta.

May 7, 1920

The sorority began its first national program, the National Library Project, to establish a traveling library that would serve rural areas of the South.


Delta Sigma Theta donated its first $1,000 to the United Negro College Fund.


While celebrating their 50th Anniversary, Delta participated in the March on Washington, and established the Social Action Commission at the 27th National Convention.

November, 1949

Delta had the dedication of its first National Headquarters.


Delta co-sponsored the National Organization of Women for Equality in Education conference.