Timeline of Canada


France Passes Law


France passes a law that creates The Sovereign Council of Quebec. This action created New France to be a province and allowed for a civil government

The Royal Proclamation


The British decide to take over New France. The Royal Proclamation sets civil laws for Quebec

The Quebec Act


Approval of French civil law and permitted the ability to freely exercise the Roman Catholic Religion. This act symbolized Quebec as a distinct society within Canada and much different from other provinces

Constitution Act


This act led to Quebec spiting into two provinces, which were called upper and lower Quebec. Each of the provinces had a executive council and an elected assembly. They had a representative government not a responsible government


1837 - 1838

Mackenzie went against the Family Compact and Papineau went against Chateau Clique since they demanded for a responsible government

Lord Durham's Report


Lord Durham proposed to reunite the provinces once again and make the French language and its people disappear. After this a responsible government would take over

Act of Union


At this time Canada created "Canada East" and "Canada West." A responsible government was set but was not representative but the population within each province.


July 1st 1867

Confederation also known as the British North America Act, joined New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Canada West and Canada East. The coming of these four provinces created a Federal government. The seats of the Federal government were chosen by rep by pop

Statue of Westminister


This event gave Canada control of its foreign policy

Constitution Act


Canada became its own country and The Charter of Rights and Freedoms was made for all of Canada to follow