Bible History


The Patriarchs : Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Joseph

1900 BCE - 1700 BCE


Approx. 1300 BCE

Period of the Judges

1200 BC - 1020 BC

King David/King Solomon

1000 BCE - 930 BCE

First Temple built by Solomon

953 BCE

Division of the N & S Kingdom

Approx. 930 BCE

Southern Kingdom (Judah)

922 BCE - 587 BCE

Northern Kingdom Israel (Samaria)

922 BCE - 722 BCE

Fall of Northern Kingdom (Samaria)

Approx. 722 BCE

Fall and deportation of Samaria to Assyria by Shalmaneser

First Temple destroyed by Babylonia (Nebuchadnezzar)

587 BCE

Fall of Southern Kingdom (Jerusalem)

Approx. 587 BCE

Fall and deportation of Jerusalem to Babylon by Nebuchadnezzar

King Cyrus the Great (Persia) decrees Jews can rebuild Temple

Approx. 539 BCE

The Bible calls Cyrus "anointed"

2nd Temple dedicated

516 BCE

Alexander the Great conquers Palestine

332 BCE

Herod the Great

37 BC - 4 BC

Jesus born 4 BCE


Jesus' crucifixion, death, resurrection

30 CE

Paul's conversion

40 CE


54 CE - 68 CE

The "Beast" of Revelation (666)

Paul executed in Rome

62 CE

Jerusalem Temple destroyed by Rome (Titus)

70 CE

Council of Jamnia/ OT Canon finalized

90 CE

Domitian/ Book of Revelation

95 CE

NT Canon/Scripture closed

367 CE