Timeline of the Department of Homeland Security


9/11 Terrorist Attacks

September 11, 2001

Pennsylvania Governor Tom Ridge was appointed as the first Director of the Office of Homeland Security

September 22, 2001

Congress passed the Homeland Security Act

November 25, 2002

Homeland Security opened its doors

March 1, 2003

Secretary Michael Chertoff took office and initiated a Second Stage Review to evaluate the department’s operations, policies, and structures.

February 15, 2005

Secretary Chertoff announced a six-point agenda

July 13, 2005

Congress passed the Security Accountability for Every Port Act

October 13, 2006

President’s fiscal year 2010 budget: transfer of the Federal Protective Service (FPS) from U.S. Immigration & Customs Enforcement (ICE) to the National Protection and Programs Directorate (NPPD)

Oct. 28, 2009

Implementing Recommendations of the 9/11 Commission Act of 2007 was enacted

August 7, 2011