Guomindang (GMT)


Nationalistic Chinese party, founded in 1912 by Sun Yat Sen

Warlord era

1916 - 1928

When China was divided between different military cliques.

Sun Yat-sen

1919 - 1925

Chinese revolutionary, first president of the republic of China. In office 1919-1925 (death)

Communist Party of China


Jiang Jieshi (Chiang Kai-Shek)

1927 - 1949

Chinese nationalistic military and politician. Leader of China 1927-1949

Jiangxi Soviet


Largest component territory of the Chinese Soviet Republic, an unrecognized state established in November 1931 by Mao Zedong and Zhu De during the Chinese civil war.

The Long March

October 1934 - October 1935

Undertaken by the Red Army of the CCP. When they begund to fight the nationalists. Mao rose as a leader figure during this time.

Yan'an Soviet

1936 - 1948

City considered the center of the Chinese Communist revolution from 1936 to 1948. Near to the end of the Long March. Chinese communists celebrate Yan'an as the birthplace of the revolution.