Untitled timeline

Korean Timeline


Three Han Period

206 bc - 220 ad

The Han dynasty emerged after a five-year civil war had broken out. The leaders of the former feudal states rose against the emperor Qin, and the empire was overturned. This instigated the closing of the Qin dynasty and the uprising of the Han.

Puyo period

200 b.c - 494 a.d

Buyeo or Puyŏ (Korean pronunciation: [pujʌ]), Fuyu in Chinese, was an ancient Korean[1] kingdom located from today's Manchuria to northern North Korea, from around the 2nd century BC to 494. Its remnants were absorbed by the neighboring and brotherhood kingdom of Goguryeo in 494. Both Goguryeo and Baekje, two of the Three Kingdoms of Korea, considered themselves its successor nation.

Koguryo Period

37 b.c - 491 a.d

Koguryŏ, the largest of the three kingdoms into which ancient Korea was divided until 668. Koguryŏ is traditionally said to have been founded in 37 bce in the Tongge River basin of northern Korea by Chu-mong

Silla Kingdom

668 - 935

one of the three kingdoms of ancient Korea and the one that in 668 unified Korea under the Unified Silla dynasty (668–935). Silla is traditionally believed to have been founded by Hyŏkkŏse in 57 bc. By the 2nd century ad, a distinct confederation of local tribes was definitely in existence in the southeastern portion of the Korean peninsula.

Koryo Period

918 - 1392

in Korean history, dynasty that ruled the Korean peninsula as the Koryŏ kingdom from 935 to 1392 ce. During this period the country began to form its own cultural tradition distinct from the rest of East Asia. It is from the name Koryŏ that the Western name Korea is derived.

Choson period

1392 - 1910

also called Yi dynasty, the last and longest-lived imperial dynasty (1392–1910) of Korea. Founded by Gen. Yi Sŏng-gye, who established the capital at Hanyang (present-day Seoul), the kingdom was named Chosŏn for the state of the same name that had dominated the Korean peninsula in ancient times. The regime is also frequently referred to as the Yi dynasty, for its ruling family.

Establishmant of the 38th parallel


After the surrender of Japan during World War II in 1945, the 38th parallel was established as the boundary by Dean Rusk and Charles Bonesteel of the US State-War Navy Coordinating Commitee in Washington, the parallel divides the peninsula roughly in the middle. In 1948, the dividing line became the boundary between the newly independent countries of North and South Korea.

Beginning of the Korean War


North Korean Communist forces invade South Korea (June 25). UN calls for cease-fire and asks UN members to assist South Korea (June 27). Truman orders U.S. forces into Korea (June 27). North Koreans capture Seoul (June 28). Gen. Douglas MacArthur designated commander of unified UN forces (July 8). Pusan Beachhead—UN forces counterattack and capture Seoul (Aug.–Sept.), capture Pyongyang, North Korean capital (Oct.). Chinese Communists enter war (Oct. 26), force UN retreat toward 38th parallel (Dec.).