Four Great Persian Kings


Cyrus the Great became king

559 BC

Conquered the Median Empire

550 BC

Conquered the Lydian Kingdom

546 BC

Conquered the Neo-Babylonians

539 bce

Cambyses II became king

529 BC

Conquered Egypt

525 BC

Darius the Great became king

522 BC

Civil War broke out

522 BC - 486 BC

Fleet was destroyed by storm

492 BC

Athenians defeated his army

490 BC