Unit 05: A Dividing Nation Group #1 Maddie

Was the Civil War inevitable?

A Dividing Nation

Northwest Ordinance bans slavery north of Ohio River and east of the Mississippi


Constitution is ratified with the 3/5th Compromise.


free states vs. slave states

1800 - 1810

Ohio, Illinois, and Indiana enter Union as free states.

Louisiana, Mississippi, and Alabama enter Union as slave states.

the number or free states vs. number of slave states


Number of free states = 11; Number of slave states = 11

Missouri applies for statehood as a slave state.

Missouri Compromise is passed


Missouri Compromise is passed: Missouri enters as a slave state; Maine enters as a free state. The law draws a line at latitude 36 30: North of that line slavery was banned.

William Loyd Garrison publishes abolishment newspaper


William Lloyd Garrison begins to publish abolitionist newspaper, The Liberator.

Frederick Douglass publishes his Narrative


US signs treaty with Mexico


Harriet Tubman


Harriet Tubman escapes on the Underground Railroad.

California applies for statehood as a free state.

Henry Clay proposes the Compromise of 1850


California enters as a free state.
Two new territories, New Mexico and Utah, are open to slavery.
The slave trade in D.C. is ended.
A new Fugitive Slave law is passed.

Harriet Beecher Stowe publishes Uncle Tom’s Cabin


Congress passes the Kansas Nebraska Act


The issue of slavery in both states will be decided based on popular sovereignty.

The Republican Party is established to oppose the Kansas Nebraska Act and the Fugitive Slave Law.

“Bloody Kansas”


violence breaks out between pro-slavery and anti-slavery forces in Kansas.

John Brown massacres 5 proslavery men in Pottawatomie, Kansas.

Senator Charles Sumner is caned in the Senate.

Supreme Court hands down the Dred Scott decision


African-Americans are not citizens; Missouri Compromise line is unconstitutional.

John Brown’s raid on Harpers Ferry, Virginia


Brown is captured and hung.

Abraham Lincoln wins election


In November, Abraham Lincoln, a Republican, wins the election of 1860 with less than 40% of the vote.

In December, South Carolina secedes from the Union.

The Confederate States of America are formed


The Confederate States of America is formed; Jefferson Davis is elected president.

In March, President Lincoln is inaugurated.

On April 12, 1861, Southern forces fire on Fort Sumter in Charleston Harbor, beginning the Civil War.

American Presidents

George Washington

1789 - 1797

John Adams

1797 - 1801

Thomas Jefferson

1801 - 1809

James Madison

1809 - 1817

James Monroe

1817 - 1825

J. Quincy Adams

1825 - 1829

Andrew Jackson

1829 - 1837

M. Van Buren

1837 - 1841

William Harrison


John Tyler

April, 1841 - 1845

James Polk

1845 - 1849

Zachary Taylor

1849 - July, 1850

Millard Fillmore

1850 - 1853

Franklin Pierce

1853 - 1857

James Buchanan

1857 - 1861

Abraham Lincoln

1861 - 1865