The Persian Empire


Cyrus the Great's reign

550 B.C. - 530 B.C.

Rise of Persia

550 B.C.

The Persians started to conquer regions around them under the rule of Cyrus who overthrew the Median king.

Fall of Babylon

539 B.C.

Cyrus the Great conquers Babylon and allows Jews to return to their homeland.

Cambyses II Reign

530 B.C. - 522 B.C.

Cambyses II Conquers Egypt

525 B.C.

Overthrow of Cambyses II

522 B.C.

A royal bodyguard named Darius took over the responsibilities of the throne after Cambyses II dies.

Darius the Great's Reign

522 B.C. - 486 B.C

Movement of the Capital

515 B.C.

Darius moves the capital of Persia from Pasargadae to Persepolis.

Xerxes Reign

486 B.C - 465 B.C.

The Fall of Persia

330 B.C.

The Persian Empire fell due to confusion of leadership, rebellion and chaos.