Timeline of Canada


The Sovereign Council of Quebec


France passes a law that creates The Sovereign Council of Quebec. This allowed for a civil government and created a new province known as New France.

The Royal Proclamation


England dominates New France and makes The Royal Proclamation. This sets civil laws for Quebec.

The Quebec Act


French civil law was approved and the practice of Roman Catholic Religion was permitted. Quebec became a society distinct from others in Canada.

Constitution Act


Quebec was split into two different provinces, Upper and Lower Quebec. Both provinces had an elected assembly and executive council, and a representative government instead of a responsible government.


1837 - 1838

William Mackenzie and Louis Papineau both demanded a responsible government.

Lord Durham's Report


Lord Durham proposed that the two provinces of Upper and Lower Quebec become one again while also assimilating the French language and culture. He thought this would create a responsible government.

Act of Union


Canada East and Canada West were created, and a responsible government was put in place. While this government was responsible it was not representative based on population.


July 1st, 1867

Known as the British North American Act (BNA), joins New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Canada East, and Canada West by a strong federal government.

Statue of Westminister


Gave Canada control of its foreign policy for the first time.

Constitution Act


The Charter of Rights and Freedoms was set in place for Canada which became its own country.