History of the Catholic Church- Alex Stevenson


Resurrection of Jesus

33 A.D.

After Jesus was crucified and buried on Good Friday, he rose from his tomb 3 days later on Easter Sunday.


33 AD

This is when the Holy Spirit came down to the Apostles in a flame. This gave the Apostles to go out and spread the word. This signified the beginning of the Church.

Ascension of Jesus

33 A.D.

This is when Jesus Christ rose into Heaven, body and soul. We celebrate the Ascension of Jesus 39 days after Easter Sunday.

Edict of Milan

313 AD

This was a huge event in the Catholic Church. The Edict of Milan was a proclamation that stated that Catholicism was tolerated within the Roman Empire. This was an agreement between Emperor Constantine and Emperor Licinius.

The Great Schism


This was a break of communion between the Eastern Orthodox Church and the Roman Catholic Church. This began in 1054.

Protestant Reformation

1517 - 1648

This was initiated by Martin Luther and other Protestant Reformers. The start of this began when Martin Luther posted his 95 Theses.

Papacy of Pope John Paul II

1978 - 2005

Pope John Paul II served as Pope from 1978 to 2005. He was canonized on April 27th, 2014.

Papacy of Pope Francis

March 13, 2013 - Present

Pope Francis is the current Pope of the Catholic Church. He chose the name Francis in honor of St. Francis of Assisi.

Saints and Doctors of the Church

St. Jerome's Life

331 - 420

St. Jerome was born in 331 and he lived to 420. He is patron saint of librarians because he was a great writer and teacher. He was declared a Doctor of The Church in 1298.

St. Leo the Great's life

440 - 461

St. Leo was born in 440 and he lived to 461. He was a Roman aristocrat and Pope. He was best known for issuing the Tome of Leo. This was a foundation of the debates held at the Council Of Chalcedon.

Saint Brigid of Kildare's Life

450 - 525

St. Brigid of Kildare was born in 450 A.D. She was a milkmaid who spent most of her life helping and serving the poor. In 525 A.D. she passed away.

St. Anthony of Padua's life

August 15th, 1195 - June 13th, 1231

St. Anthony of Padua lived from 1195 to 1231. He was born in Lisbon, Portugal and then died in Padua, Italy. He spent much of his life as a disciple spreading the word of God in Italy.

St. Thomas Aquinas's Lifetime

1225 - March 7, 1274

St. Thomas Aquinas lived from 1225 to 1274. He spent most of his life writing and teaching about God and the Church.

Canonization of St. Anthony of Padua

May 30th, 1232

On May 30th, 1232, Pope Gregory IX canonized St. Anthony of Padua for his wonderful life of studying scripture and evangelizing.

St. Marianne Cope's Life

January 23, 1838 - August 9, 1918

St. Marianne Cope was born in Germany. Soon later, she moved to New York. When she grew up, she joined the Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis. In 1883, she volunteered to care for leprosy patients in Hawaii. She ended up dying in Hawaii due to natural causes.

St. Frances Xavier Cabrini's life

1850 - 1917

St. Frances Xavier Cabrini, the Patron Saint of immigrants, was born in 1850 in Milan, Italy. She soon traveled to The United States as a missionary. She co-founded the Missionary Sisters of The Sacred Heart of Jesus. She founded schools, orphanages, and adult education classes for immigrants

Church Councils

Council Of Nicaea

325 A.D.

This was the first ecumenical council. This was held in 325 A.D. in Nicaea, which is now Turkey. This council issued the Nicene Creed. They also rejected the teachings of Arius who stated that Jesus was not fully divine.

Council Of Constantinople

381 A.D.

This was the second ecumenical council held in 381 A.D. In Constantinople. This council rejected the beliefs of the Macedonians, who denied the divinity of the Holy Spirit. This council also stated that the Holy Spirit is consubstantial with the Father and the Son.

The Council of Ephesus

431 A.D.

This was the third ecumenical council which was help in Ephesus in 431 A.D. This council rejected the Nestorians, who taught that Jesus was two separate persons in the incarnate Christ: a divine person and a human person. But, Jesus is one divine person with two natures: a divine nature and a human nature.

Council of Chalcedon

451 A.D.

This was the fourth ecumenical council. This council condemned Monophysitism, which said that Jesus has only one nature which is a combination of his divine nature and his human nature.

Council of Trent

1545 - 1563

This council lasted 18 years. This council was called by Pope Paul III, which consisted of the start of the Counter-Reformation.

First Vatican Council

1869 AD - 1870 AD

This council was called by Pope Pius IX. This council lasted 1 year and it promoted Papal infallibility.

Second Vatican Council

1962 - 1965

This was the 21st council called by Pope John Paul XXIII and it lasted 3 years. The purpose was to update to the contemporary needs of the modern world. The Fathers summoned the whole Church to dialogue with the whole world to advance the dignity of human beings.