French and Indian War 1754-1763

The Seven Years War


King George's War

March 15, 1744 - October 18, 1748

March 15, 1744 - October 18, 1748: King George's War The warm-up to the French and Indian War between France and England, also fought for domination over North America. Ends with the treaty of Aix-la-Chapelle and no clear victor.

French - British Tensions Grow

1752 - 1753

1752-1753: Agitation grows Tension grows between France and England over competing land and trading claims. Minor skirmishes break out, particularly in rural areas.

George Washington wins early battle

May 28, 1754

May 28, 1754: The first battle Washington defeats the French in a surprise attack. His troops retreat to Great Meadows and build Fort Necessity.

French take Fort Necessity

July 3, 1754

July 3, 1754: The French take Fort Necessity

The Battle of the Monongahela

July 9, 1755

July 9, 1755: Also known as The Battle of the Wilderness: British General Braddock's forces are defeated near Fort Duquesne in Pennsylvania, leaving the backwoods of British territory undefended.

The Battle of Lake George

September 9, 1755

September 9, 1755: The Battle of Lake George British Colonel William Johnson's forces win, making Johnson the first British hero of the war.

Britain declares war on France

May 8, 1756

May 8, 1756: Declarations of War Great Britain declares war on France. France declares war on Great Britain.

French take Fort Oswego

August 14, 1756

August 14, 1756: Fort Oswego The French capture this fort on the banks of the Great Lakes.

William Pitt

June 1757 - 1763

French take Fort William Henry

August 8, 1757

August 8, 1757: Fort William Henry The commander-in-chief of the French forces, Louis-Joseph de Montcalm takes Fort William Henry. The infamous massacre occurs, later dramatized in James Fenimore Cooper's The Last of the Mohicans.

French take Fort Ticonderoga

July 8, 1758

July 8, 1758: The French take Fort Ticonderoga

British take Fort Louisbourg

July 26, 1758

July 26, 1758: Louisbourg The British seize Louisbourg, opening the route to Canada.

British take Fort Frontenac

August 27, 1758

August 27, 1758: Fort Frontenac The French surrender this fort on Lake Ontario, effectively destroying their ability to communicate with their troops in the Ohio Valley.

British make Peace with Indians

October 21, 1758

October 21, 1758: British/Indian Peace The British make peace with the Iroquois, Shawnee, and Delaware Indians.

British retake Fort Duquesne

November 26, 1758

November 26, 1758: The British recapture Fort Duquesne It is renamed "Pittsburgh."

British retake Fort Ticonderoga

June 26, 1759

June 26, 1759: The British take Fort Ticonderoga

British take Fort Niagara

July 25, 1759

July 25, 1759: The British take Fort Niagara; the French abandon Crown Point. After these two victories, the British control the entire western frontier.

Battle of Quebec

September 13, 1759

September 13, 1759: Quebec The British win the decisive Battle of Quebec. Montcalm and Wolfe, the commanding generals of both armies, perish in battle.

French fail to retake Quebec

May 16, 1760

May 16, 1760: French Siege of Quebec fails

Montreal falls to the British

September 8, 1760

September 8, 1760: Montreal Montreal falls to the British; letters are signed finishing the surrender of Canada.

British take Detroit

September 15, 1760

September 15, 1760: The functional end of the war The British flag is raised over Detroit, effectively ending the war.

French fail to retake Newfoundland

September 18, 1762

September 18, 1762: French attempt to retake Newfoundland fails

French surrender at Treaty of Paris


February 10, 1763: Treaty of Paris All French possessions east of the Mississippi, except New Orleans, are given to the British. All French possessions west of the Mississippi are given to the Spanish. France regains Martinique, Guadeloupe and St. Lucia.