Japan Under the Shoguns


Nara period

710 CE - 794 CE

In the year 710, the first permanent Japanese capital was established in Nara
Most of Japanese society during this period was agricultural in nature and centered on villages
Most of the villagers followed a religion based on the worship of natural and ancestral spirits called kami.

Heian Period

794 CE - 1185 CE

The period is named after the capital city of Heian-kyō, or modern Kyōto
It is the period in Japanese history when Buddhism, Taoism and other Chinese influences were at their height

Kamakura Shogunate

1185 CE - 1333 CE

Officially established in 1192 in Kamakura by the first shogun, Minamoto no Yoritomo
The heads of the government were the shoguns
Shogun was a military dictator in Japan
The Kamakura shogunate was a Japanese feudal military government

Japan drives back the Mongol invasion

1281 CE

Muromachi Shogunate

1336 CE - 1568 CE

Muromachi bakufu was a dynasty originating from one of the plethora of Japanese daimyo
It was named for a district in Kyōto, where the first Ashikaga shogun, Takauji, established his administrative headquarters

100 year of civil war begin

1467 CE

Portugese introduce Christianity and firearms to Japan

1543 CE

Tokugawa Shogunate

1603 CE - 1868 CE

The Tokugawa shogunate, also known as the Tokugawa bakufu
Was the last feudal Japanese military government

Commodore Perry arrives in Japan

1853 CE

Oda Nobunaga unifies central Japan

1853 CE

Meiji restoration occurs

1868 CE